Alistair Fletcher

I am a 15 year old triathlete and GBR Age Group Athlete.

I live and train in the Forest Of Dean and compete all across the UK.

Next year, I am targeting the British Junior Triathlon Series as well as the World Age Group Duathlon Championships. I aim to have solid performances at all of the races in the British Super Series as well as gaining vital experience. I also aspire to podium at the World Age Group Duathlon Championships although I will possibly be the youngest competitor racing.


Describe your first bike?

It was a red and black child’s bike with a single gear which I learnt to ride when I was 3.

How did you do in your first race?

I thoroughly enjoyed my first race, I can’t remember my result, but from that race I learnt in future to use elastic laces with no socks!

What is your essential breakfast?

On race day, I usually have Weetabix with a little bit of sugar as my stomach can handle it quite well.

Train alone or with a group?

Definitely training with a group. I try to train in a group as often as I can but where I live this isn’t always an option. So, I am usually training alone apart from group rides on Sundays.

Energy drink, tea or coffee?

I’m not a big fan of tea or coffee, so I’d say energy drink. However, I do like a good hot chocolate at a café stop every so often.

Where does your bike live?

My bike lives in my room. This is also where I do indoor training during the winter.

Snickers or energy bar?

I usually bring an energy gel with me on rides just for emergencies but a snickers bar is good after a long ride.

The craziest place you've slept since becoming a triathlete?

I normally camp and sleep in a tent the night before a race which I really enjoy. It means we can stay closer to the race start than many hotels. I also usually fall asleep in the car after the race.

Pee on the bike, stop or hold until the race?

As I am only racing sprint distance, I don’t have this problem so just before and after the race. And during training I just stop when I need to.

Three people to have dinner with?

Alistair Brownlee, Chris Froome and Alex Yee.

What do you carry when you train?

I normally carry spares like inner tubes and a co2 canister alongside some food, normally 2 apples and plenty of drink. I also carry a phone for safety and to grab the odd Instagram photo.

Worst chafing / sunburn?

Just from my wetsuit after some long open water swim sessions.

Favourite place to ride?

I love cycling in France as well as the Isle Of Wight. The roads are just quiet, well surfaced and surrounded by amazing scenery.

Pre-race rituals?

I always wash my bike and make sure it is as good as it can be. When I’m racing duathlons, I use the same socks as I have had a few good results in them and I almost always have pasta bake or pizza as my pre-race meal.

Funniest person you know?

Some of my friends at school are pretty funny, as well as my two sisters.

What are you reading?

I’ve just finished reading the autobiography of Alistair and Jonny Brownlee.

What are you going to do this month?

My main priority for September is the Regional Triathlon Acadmey Trials as well as starting year 11 which is my GCSE year in school. I will also be starting a block of winter training in preparation for the first race of the National Junior Triathlon Series around March time next year.